ABI Academy Learners and Delegates

Private Investigator School UK

Delegates and Learners

The Association of British Investigators is sector accredited by the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency and is endorsed by the Law Society of England and Wales who recognise the A.B.I as the premier professional body for private investigators working in the UK and beyond: "A non-profit organisation, its national and international membership provides credibility and due diligence". The A.B.I is also an approved supplier to the Law Society of Scotland, who acknowledge: "Its national and international membership provides the only credible list of accredited operatives".

The Security Industry Authority explained that Business Licencing for the UK's Private Investigators was their preferred route back in 2013 (The "Second Tier of Licencing") and will, subject to review, require Private Investigators to obtain ACS (Approved Contractor Scheme), status.

The second tier of licencing or Business Licences for Private Investigators will be based on existing (Draft) British Standards and Association of British Investigator and other trade bodies mandatory qualification requirements to demonstrate professionalism, competence, probity and ethics.





EDI Professional Investigator Award

Expiry of Pearson EDI Qualifications and Retirement of the EDI Brand



(Number 600/3952/8, EDI Qualification Number: AWPI3, QCFS0338)

Awarding Organisation: Pearson EDI

European Qualifications Framework = Level 4, Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework equivalent = 6


The EDI qualification was all about: Probity, Ethics, Standards, Procedures and most of all a working knowledge of how the professional investigator and the law interact.


The Pearson EDI L3 Award in Professional Investigations was an Ofqual qualification assessed by an externally set and externally marked multiple choice test in: Principles of Planning and Reporting Investigations (Credit Value = 2) and Principles of Gathering and Using Information for Investigations (Credit Value = 3)





Education Development International (EDI) merged into Pearson some years ago and the EDI Level 3 Award for Professional Investigators has now ceased to accept any further enrolment. Pearson Edexcel has replaced the EDI Award with an upgraded qualification called: Pearson BTEC Level 3 Award for Professional Investigators.


The Pearson BTEC Level 3 Award for Professional Investigators is as much a, "General Investigator" qualification as it is a, "Private Investigator" qualification. The rationale behind the award has always been for practitioners in the industry to have the required skills and competency to complete assignments. "The specification covers the knowledge necessary to prevent harm to the public" (Noted in the SIA's Impact Assessment on Private Investigators).

Announcement from Pearson Education Ltd : January 23rd 2017


Expiry of Pearson EDI Qualifications and Retirement of the EDI Brand

All Pearson EDI qualifications have now reached their certification end date and expired.



Get the Pearson Edexcel qualification that has replaced the Pearson EDI Award here:





Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Go to top